For Special Needs

Organizations, Support, & Info for Special Needs

American Medical ID for durable medical ID bracelets americanmedical-id.com

Information on Social Security for Disabilities @ The SimpleDollarTips for Navigating Guardianship & Social Security for Disabilities

NATHHAN for homeschoolers of special-needs children nathhan.com

Council for Exceptional Children cec.sped.org

Exceptional Parent Magazine eparent.com

Home School Legal Defense, hslda.org

Neurology Now: Healthy Living for Patients & Their Families (free magazine) neurologynow.com

Special-Needs Financial Planning

1-800-MET-LIFE to order three helpful free pamphlets:

  • Planning for Your Child with Special Needs
  • Establishing a Trust Fund
  • Dealing with Disability

1-800-MET-DESK for help with special-needs planning, such as creating trusts that protect assets for the child without jeopardizing his access to disability funding or services. Every special-needs representative has at least one family member with special medical or learning conditions.

101 Special-Needs Groups, Camps & Activities

Arranged by Conditions

ADHD

National Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA) add.org/index.html

ARTHRITIS & AUTOIMMUNE

Autoimmune Disorders
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000816.htm

Autoimmune Disease Guide: Everything You Need to Know About Autoimmune Disorders
http://blog.delimmune.com/2014/07/autoimmune-disease-guide/

Autoimmune Diseases Fact Sheet
http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/autoimmune-diseases.html

Find AutoImmune Disease Specialists
http://www.zocdoc.com/morespecialties

National Institute of Arthritis, Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
http://www.niams.nih.gov/

Arthritis and the Benefits of Swimming
http://blog.intheswim.com/arthritis-swimming/

National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases
http://www.niaid.nih.gov/Pages/default.aspx

National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities (NICHCY) nichcy.org 

AUTISM & ASPERGER SYNDROME

Online Asperger Syndrome Information and Support (O.A.S.I.S.) udel.edu/bkirby/Asperger

Autism Society of America autism-society.org

Autism Speaks, Inc. autismspeaks.org

Global and Regional Asperger Syndrome Partnership grasp.org

BEHAVIOR DISORDERS

Conduct Disorders: A Soft Place to Land for Battle Weary Parents conductdisorders.com

Total Transformation Program, a Cognitive Approach to Behavior, thetotaltransformation.com

BRAIN INJURY (TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY)

Brain Injury Association of America biausa.org

BRAIN TUMOR

American Brain Tumor Association abta.org

National Brain Tumor Society Braintumor.org

CEREBRAL PALSY

United Cerebral Palsy ucp.org

DEAF-BLIND

Helen Keller National Center for Deaf-Blind Youths and Adults hknc.org

DOWN SYNDROME (see also Intellectual Disability)

National Association for Down Syndrome nads.org

National Down Syndrome Society ndss.org

DYSLEXIA (see also Learning Disabilities)

International Dyslexia Association interdys.org

DYSTONIA

Dystonia Foundation dystonia-foundation.org

EPILEPSY AND SEIZURE DISORDERS

Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy (CURE) CUREepilepsy.org

Epilepsy Foundation epilepsyfoundation.org

HYDROCEPHALUS

Hydrocephalus Association hydroassoc.org

National Hydrocephalus Foundation nhfonline.org

INTELLECTUAL DISABILITY (also “Mental Retardation”)

The Arc of the United States  thearc.org

American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities aaidd.org/

Division on Developmental Disabilities  http://daddcec.org/Home.aspx

LEARNING DISABILITIES (see also dyslexia)

Learning Disabities Online ldonline.org

Learning Disabilities Assn of America ldanatl.org

Learning Disabilities Association of Canada ldac-taac.ca

National Center for Learning Disabilities ncld.org

NEUROMUSCULAR DISEASES

Muscular Dystrophy Association mda.org

NEUROLOGICAL DISORDERS

American Academy of Neurology aan.com/patients

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke ninds.nih.gov

PSYCHIATRIC CONDITIONS

Juvenile Bipolar Research Foundation jbrf.org

National Association for the Mentally Ill (NAMI) nami.org

Obsessive Compulsive Foundation ocfoundation.org

RARE DISORDERS

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)  rarediseases.org 

SENSORY PROCESSING or SENSORY INTEGRATION DISORDER

Sensory Processing Disorder Foundation sinetwork.com

Sensory Comfort sensorycomfort.com

Sensory Resources, LLC sensoryresources.com

SLEEP DISORDERS

National Sleep Foundation sleepfoundation.org

SPINA BIFIDA

Spina Bifida Association spinabifidaassociation.org

TOURETTE SYNDROME

Tourette Syndrome Association tsa-usa.org

Tourette Syndrome Online tourette-syndrome.com

Tourette Syndrome Plus tourettesyndrome.net

VISION IMPAIRMENTS

American Foundation for the Blind afb.org

American Printing House for the Blind aph.org

Assn for the Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired (AER)  aerbvi.org

Canadian Council of the Blind ccbnational.net

National Association for Parents of the Visually Impaired spedex.com/napvi

The educational and medical information on this website is provided “as is” without any representations or warranties, express or implied. Please see the Disclaimer.